BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND TWITTER BACKGROUNDS

Friday, March 06, 2009

Discussion Point: Equal Rights.

So. I've decided that each Friday I will [try to] post a discussion point blog about some sort of social issue, like environmentalism, universal health care, social security issues, etc. Today's will be about equal rights, because today is "This is What a Feminist Looks Like" day, so it only seems fitting.

To begin, I will start with what my definition of feminist is vs. what the stereotype is. The stereotype is that if you call yourself a feminist that must mean that you are an "angry, bra-burning, man-hating, hairy lesbian." Apparently this is a logical definition. For me, it seems logical that one would know this is false. But, unfortunately, too many people still believe this. My definition is something along the lines of: I believe in equal rights and the equal treatment of all people, no matter their sex, race, or sexual orientation. That means: Women, men, people of all colors, non-heterosexual people, and heterosexual people. Everyone.

Now, the next question people usually have for me is: What are equal rights? This question can be answered in many different ways, but my basic answer would be that equal rights means that all people should receive equal treatment. Fair housing, fair employment and fair pay, equal access sexual health information and reproductive rights, equal maternity/paternity leave, equal access to sexual violence centers, equal access to medical care, equal education opportunities, equal marriage opportunities... there is so much more.

Where are we in the fight for equal rights? We have come so far from the "Separate-but-equal" days of the pre-civil rights '60s. We have elected a black, equal rights activist calling for change as our new president, and we have a strong powerful woman as secretary of state, which shows so much progress, but we are still so far from being where we should.

I do have to say that I am so proud, already, of what Obama has done. He has signed the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act into effect, he is calling to open to the floor to discussion about equal health care access, he has a platform to remove the "Don't ask, don't tell" policy in the military, he's opposed to a constitution ban on gay marriage, is a huge advocate for education and the right to equal access to education, and he is a huge supporter for the women's right to choose.

I work everyday to get one step closer to closing the gap. Prejudices exist still in this country, but they should never be accepted.

In the words of John F. Kennedy: "...If by a "Liberal" they mean someone who looks ahead and not behind, someone who welcomes new ideas without rigid reactions, someone who cares about the welfare of the people -- their health, their housing, their schools, their jobs, their civil rights, and their civil liberties -- someone who believes we can break through the stalemate and suspicions that grip us in our policies abroad, if that is what they mean by a "Liberal," then I'm proud to say I'm a "Liberal."

That is what I believe.

Feel free to offer opinions and also suggestions about what next weeks discussion point should be about.

Love love.

SAC

Wednesday, March 04, 2009

I wrote this short story once:

Remember that time me, you, and Theo found that stray? Yeah. Me, too. Was a really good time. We was just walkin' to school, and then he just come up to us and started lickin' on Theo's knee. You nearly lost your breakfast, you was so scared. I was yellin' at you makin' a racket in front of Mrs. Jenson's house, but you didn't listen. She come runnin' out of her house screamin' at the top of her lungs. She was tellin' us that we was bein' too loud and that we wasn't ever gonna make nothin' of ourselves. Theo told her that we found the dog, and she just threw her cup at us. We took off runnin' down the street. That dog followed us! He was barkin' and havin' a good old time, but you was still so scared out of your mind. Theo and me was trying to tell you that nothin' was gonna happen to you, 'cause the dog was a nice one. Finally, you stopped your screamin' but you still wouldn't go near the thing.

When we got to school we just left the dog outside. Theo was convinced he'd be gone by the end of the day, but I knew he was gonna be there when we got out. And, was sure right? He was sittin' right there when we walked out of the buildin' that afternoon. He looked so happy to see us 'gain. He followed us the way we was walking home, since we decided to go the long way to avoid Mrs. Jansen this time. Don't you remember? And then Theo went home and the pooch kept on followin' us, all the way to our house. I knew you wouldn't admit it them, but I knew you was gettin' to like the dog, 'cause you looked real excited when I asked Mama if we could keep it. I shoulda known she was gonna say no, but I asked anyway.

Wasn't this about the time that you was learnin' to read? Yeah, yeah, it was, 'cause, remember that you asked Mama if the doggy could stay just long enough for you to read a story to it. She laughed, because she thought you were just silly, but she told you you could. You was so excited. You really did like that old mutt after all didn't you? I can't remember what it was that you was readin' to it, I just remember thinkin' that I was glad you was my sister, and thinkin' about how I never wanted anyone else to be my sister. You was perfect.


I miss you. I went back to see Mama and Daddy last weekend and they're doin' fine. They miss you, too. Theo asked me to tell you hello. I know he misses you more than anyone, other than me of course. I hope things are treatin' you well up there with the Big Man. And, tell that old dog, if he's up there, that you readin' to him is one of my favorite memories, sis. I love you.

END

Anyway, things are looking up as far as dance concert is concerned. It's really no where near as bad as I thought it would, and no where near as bad as it was when I did it Freshman year.

So. I am fairly sure that I am going to be quitting my job. I work as Mark Taylor's research assistant and he has given me a thirteen page list of books to read and I just can't do it. I am a student first. I know that I should be able to find a another job fairly easily. There has to be something on campus, like a clerical job or something. We'll see.

Only two days til Friday! Whoo. I really can't wait. It is going to be a ballin' day.

On Friday I'll do a little blog about equal rights for your enjoyment.

Anyways... I'm peacin' out.

Love love

SAC.

Tuesday, March 03, 2009

Sometimes I learn things about myself.

And this first night at Dance Concert was definitely one of those times.

I am a nice person. At least I try to be a nice person. Sometimes, as I feel all people do, I fail at this. Tonight, when playing and dealing with my new found power has head dresser, I wasn't so nice. I was kind of bitchy. [As a side note, I was only bitchy with the boys... All the girls were perfectly cordial...]. In my defense, [and I realize how much this probably sounds like I'm being bitchy again] the boys were being loud and annoying. But, instead of remaining calm and collected like I should have, I got a little big headed and sort of yelled at them.

I know four out of the five boys fairly well. The other one I've only met in passing, and I'm sure he didn't even know my name until tonight. And, of course, my super big headed bitchy-ness is now his impression of me. And this upsets me.


Sigh.


I have talked to the four that I know about this, and they all understand and have forgiven me/apologized for their behavior. I kind of want to pull the fifth one aside and apologize to him and try and express to him that I really am generally a nice person, but I sometimes have trouble talking to people I don't know. [I wonder how I make friends... hmmm.]

Aside from this happening, the first dress rehearsal was no where near as bad as I thought it would be. People cooperated and were great about quick changes. I think I may not die after all.

I have a paper due tomorrow. I have less than two pages of what is supposed to be five pages. I think I may cry. Okay not really, but still it's overwhelming. [I know anyone reading this is now saying to themselves "Sarah. Stop writing on your blog and go write the damn paper. Yeah, yeah.] I do have an extensive period of time between my classes tomorrow which is good. I should be able to finish it then.


I have to say. Each day this week I am counting until Friday. Friday is going to be a really good day for me. It is "This is What a Feminist Looks Like" day. Empower is going to have a table in Krannert and we are going to be basically explainign that feminist doesn't necessarily mean bra burning lesbian man-hater. Also! I have a massage! Whoo! And, Damian will be here to watch the DC that night. All around good day.

Anyway. I think that I am going to go to bed now. I should not be awake if I want to be able to function for my 8:30am Spanish Lab.

Blah.

Night.

SAC.

Monday, March 02, 2009

I sort of fail at updating this.

Sorry.

Anyway, things have been crazy lately anyway. So much has happened in the last month I cannot even handle it. Not to mention that I am heading into the longest, busiest week of my life. Whoo. Not.

I have Dance Concert this week. No, I am not dancing. Rather, I am dressing. Meaning, I am the one who makes sure that all the dancers are wearing the right costume at the right time. It's going to be nuts. Crazy.

There is this other emotional thing going on, which sucks big time.

But, I'll make it. I know I will. I have the will power and that's all that matters, right?

Spring Break is in two weeks, which is super. I need a break. I think there's a high chance I will be going to Florida to spend time with my aunt and uncle. It should be a good time. I just want to get out of Rome for a while.

I must be wrapping this up, because I have to go get ready to load in the costumes for DC. Oh, how I love my life.

I'll try and produce a much more insightful and intelligent post in the near future.

SAC.