So.
I just found out that this attractive person I was "crushing" [oh, how I hate that word, but I am at a lacking for a better one here...] on has a girlfriend.
Sigh.
I can't say I'm too surprised considering the magnitude of his attractiveness. However, I am feeling a bit sad [not depressed... goodness, no... I've only spoken to the chap twice], because I feel as though this type of thing happens to me all the time. Ah, well. I will move on with my life as I always do.
I am seriously starting to stress about fining a job. I have now applied for 5 jobs on campus, and have not gotten a single one of them. And... only two of them I even got interviews for. =[. I guess I am going to start looking off campus on Monday. Pull the old yellow pages out and do some "Excuse me, could you tell me if you're hiring?" phone calls. It's needs to happen fairly ASAP.
I have to read Henry V tomorrow and do my first "act" entry in my Shakespeare Journal. Can we just talk for a minute about how that class is going to royally kick my behind? I am aware that in order to be a English Major with a Literature Concentration that you must have this class, but I fail to understand why. Not everyone likes Shakespeare. I know this is probably a hard concept for some, but NOT EVERYONE LIKES HIM. I promise. I only really and truly like 3 of his plays. Three. They are: Macbeth, A Midsummer's Night's Dream, and King Lear. And that, my friends, is it. So, I am trying to comprehend why I must suffer, yes suffer, through this class. Ah, well... I must, so I will stop complaining and "grin and bear it" as they say.
I do like my other classes, however [minus the whole non-stop reading part, but that is a part of life, I suppose]. My Medieval Lit class is by far my favorite. Mark Taylor is basically the most amazing teacher at Berry [you know aside from Paul Wallace, who doesn't teach at Berry anymore =[.] I like my Lit Theory class, because Paul Trolander is pretty ballin' and he tends to make the discussion fairly interesting. Speech is pretty fantastic [although, I can see it getting fairly difficult]. I love that I have known Bob Frank, for pretty much my entire life. =]. Western Lit is okay. I like the readings we're doing, but sometimes she can be boring...
Speaking of Paul Wallace [which, I wasn't really... but whatever], I tried to send him and email, because I miss him/his class more than, like, anything. Except for the part where the only email address I have for him is his Berry email, and since he doesn't teach here anymore, I doubt he still uses it, so I don't think he got the email, and that makes me sad. [Wow, tangent much?]
Anyway, I was trying to talk about the homework I have this weekend, I don't really know what just happened. [Pause for breath and continue].
I have:
Henry V, plus "act" entry #1 for Shakespeare
The rest of Beowulf and the appendices for Medieval Lit.
[the following three things are for Tuesday, but...]
Chapter outlines for 5&6, and start my Research Assignment for Speech.
Books 16-20[?] in the Odyssey for Western Lit.
A bunch of 17th Century British Poems/studying for a quiz for Theory.
[I have a lot to do, and only tomorrow/Monday to get it all done.]
The basic gist of my life is that... I have no life. At least not this semester. Which means, that I probably shouldn't be posting on here, but, you know... I must stop reading sometime or I'll go completely crazy. [Some would speculate that I am already completely crazy...]
Today was a fairly fun day. Paige was here, and she was recording something VERY EXCITING, and it was a lot of fun, and then we ate at IHOP, which was great.
=].
Well, I guess I'm done for now. I should read. A lot.
Love love.
SAC
Saturday, September 06, 2008
Such is my life
Posted by [SacMan.] at 8:46 PM 1 comments
Thursday, September 04, 2008
I should probably post.
I'm not even really sure where to start.
So much has happened since the last time I wrote.
I feel like it is the middle of the semester, and I am very very close to that breakdown... you know, THAT breakdown that no one likes to talk about but everyone has at least once a year. And... there has only been two weeks of school. That is a bad sign. It really is.
These first two weeks so far have basically been... awful. First, my car got rained on and had flood damage. Then the French class fell through, and I'm now in Shakespeare... Ahh.
And, I've also been having to constantly deal with my parents in this new house. The unpacking [that my mom and I are pretty much doing], the buying of the new furniture, the assembling of the new furniture, the breaking of the new furniture [Emma knows this story], and the constant, yes constant, yelling. About EVERYTHING. The TV stand broke: Yelling. The toilet paper holder came out of the wall: Yelling. There's a piece of paper on the floor: Yelling. The dog is barking, so there is already loud noise: YELLING!
I am about done. Actually, I am done. I have way to much to worry about with my classes to deal with all of it. I really just want to be able to NOT LIVE WITH THEM ANYMORE.
So... I really need to bring my GPA back up this semester. I have a 2.9, and in order for me to get into the Graduate program I want, I need a 3.1 [at the lowest]... but I have the "Oh so wonderful" Shakespeare class. Which... everyone who knows anything about Berry College knows that this is the HARDEST class at Berry. Period. So, basically... I will not have a social life if I have any intention of bringing my GPA up to where it needs to be so I can start applying to places next summer.
[Epic Sigh].
I am feeling like I am loosing touch, sort of in general. Not like lost touch in the "I am not longer corresponding with that person" kind, but rather, the "I am going completely insane" kind. Maybe not... but I sure feel like it an awful lot.
I do sort of feel like I am loosing a couple of my friends, too though. Not loosing touch, just loosing. It's a really horrible feeling, actually, especially wince these are two people who I considered my best friends. We are just fading from each other. And sometimes I feel like they feel that need to work at being my friend, and now... they just don't want to anymore. I guess I never realized how much of a handful I was. =/.
I should go now. I have mounds of speech homework to do, so I am going to do that now.
Love love.
SAC.
Posted by [SacMan.] at 5:14 PM 1 comments
